Dr. Somepony – Protagonist | Metal

He’s back! Dr. Somepony’s first upload in over a year focuses on Tempest Shadow, and is a sort of progressive piece. The song constantly switches up the beat, the riffs, even the tempo, all while keeping a dark yet energetic feel, fitting for the character it represents.


FlutterGoth (Elias Frost) – Scream in a Void | Metal

NB: This was originally posted on Equestria Daily on 15 April 2018.

Elias Frost has brought FlutterGoth to life as a musical artist, expertly putting many of a dialogue from her episode to some excellent metal music that suits it perfectly. Emo Flutter metal is definitely quite the aesthetic, especially with some additional vocaloid-style backing vocals too.


Shal Music/FX – Open Up Your Eyes (covering Daniel Ingram) | Metal

NB: This was originally posted on Equestria Daily on 6 April 2018.

Shal has impressed me a lot lately whenever he’s released anything, so it’s cool to see something in a different direction from them! Usually focusing on electronic stuff, this orchestral-tinted metal cover of Open Up Your Eyes makes great use of his vocals, as well as some solid guitar throughout.


Frozen Night – Cosmic Dream | Symphonic Metal

Frozen Night is back with another one of his masterpieces! Cosmic Dream evokes visions of soaring through the aether on wings of starlight. He perfectly blends atmospheric effects and burning guitars into a distilled draught of energy. Throughout the song, it’s easy to picture Celestia flying through the ionosphere, casting her mighty spell to raise the sun once more.


Reverbrony – Heaven’s Eclipse (Remastered) | Metal

It’s been a little while, but we should all be excited because Reverbrony is back with some high quality remastered tracks! Heaven’s Eclipse is a heavy instrumental track depicting the power and might of the sun’s greatest enemy – Nightmare Moon! The drums are powerful and drive the fast tempo with insane double-pedal kicks. The angelic choir chanting behind the metal guitar adds a dimension of epicness and divinity to the powerful track. There’s even an interlude featuring a church organ to round out the theme of the track and keep you on your toes! All-in-all, Reverbrony makes a huge splash in his newest track!


Osoch – Friendship Always Wins (covering Daniel Ingram) | Metal

NB: This was originally posted on Equestria Daily on 29 March 2018.

It’s that time again, where new songs from the show mean some musicians giving their own unique takes on them! Osoch has already managed to put together a few great metal show covers, so it’s no surprise to see this one from him. It makes good use of the vocals from the original, with some heavy guitar and percussion adding some nice energy.


4everfreebrony – Second Chances (feat. Rockin’Brony, PrinceWhateverer, StealingShad3z, ReMake, GatoPaint, & The L-Train) | Rock

Here is a big time collaboration to be excited about! A very notable track off the new Ponies at Dawn album, Second Chances is a great display of the talents of several fandom favorite musicians! The piece begins with a beautiful orchestral opening that kicks into a full on rock song. Showcasing his always gorgeous melodies, 4everfreebrony sings of the difficulties Screwloose faces in learning to be normal. The rest of the crew provides the rock instrumentation, outstanding syncopation, and an insane guitar solo where each phrase was written and recorded by a different shredder. Rockin’Brony, PrinceWhateverer, StealingShad3z, Re:Make, GatoPaint, and The L-Train combine to help make Second Chances a song you absolutely do not want to miss!


[P@D] PrinceWhateverer – This Duality (feat. Frozen Night & Sable Symphony) | Metal

In a trifecta of talent, the royal metal-head Prince Whateverer once again teams up with Sable Symphony and this time with orchestral mastermind Frozen Night to bring us this heavy jam, featured on the new compilation album Ponies at Dawn – Rebirth. Describing the harsh contrast of his own perfect, fantasy world and his less-than-perfect reality, Whateverer provides his top-notch vocals and guitar licks accompanied by Sable Symphony’s always on-point harmonies. In a great surprise, Frozen Night features in this track with his symphonic elements adding an incredible and epic twist on PW’s signature metal style.


[P@D] Thrasher – A Hero’s Ascension | Trance Metal / Synthwave

A mix of modern and retro, featured in the most recent Ponies at Dawn compilation, Rebirth. Thrasher makes a kinda cinematic/retro trance metal track with Metalcore and Industrial/Cyber Metal influences that promises to make you dance and headbang at the same time! A mix of aggressive with chill, Metal with Synthpop. A truly experimentatal world in there. Listen to it!

Don’t forget to download Rebirth on P@D’s bandcamp, they are waiting for you. I’m downloading right now, you should also do it! If you are rich, buy the album, it only helps the artists!


FlutterRage – The Magic Inside (Covering Daniel Ingram) | Metal

Well here’s a remix I didn’t know I needed. FlutterRage combines the soothing beauty we know and love in The Magic Inside with some thrashing metal accompaniments. Adding heavy guitar chords and a sweet percussive beat to the original vocals actually mixes very well and brings a lot of energy to the track. Combining these elements with a souped up piano part makes this is a fun take on a classic show song!